The Best of Strangers

Good Morning!

Good Evening!

Good Night!

Coffee barista I see everyday

Smiling face through wind, sun, and rain,

The man on the bus

always two seats away

I think to myself,

What the hell are their names?

Good Morning!

Good Evening!

Good Night!

Steve-No, Shawn in accounting,

The blonde on the stairs,

Are their eyes brown, blue, green-

Oh, what the fuck,

Who really cares?

Good Morning!

Good Evening!

Good Night!

Three-hundred sixty-five,

Eight hours or twenty four seven

Two words? Good enough.

What do you want?

Five? Eleven?!

Good Morning!

Good Evening!

Good Night!

The world? A race,

My life? A track!

The time wasted writing this?

A tragedy! Too much, in fact,

Dear strangers, fellow humans all you get back:

“Good Morning.”

“Good Evening”

“Good Night!”

And that’s that!

____________________________________________________________

A bit crude, but it’s one I’ve had in the hopper for a little while. There’s a lot more I want to do with it, but for now, there it is in its rawest form!

2 responses

  1. I like it. It speaks to me about the way we have forgotten to be in the moment we are in and how so often we just let the world go by without any care or concern for what’s really happening.

    1. Thanks, Dan! It’s a shame how easy it is to get swept up these days, isn’t it? I find I’m not immune to it either, which is why I had the tone of the poem shift because, hard as I try, I always seem to get wrapped up in things from time to time, and forget what is truly important in life.

Speak, human, speak!

