Tragedy May Have…

Broken statue

Sometimes life comes at you sideways.

“Tragedy may have shaped me,

but it will not define me.”

-R. DeArcos

_____________________________________________

We all know that life isn’t all unicorns and cupcakes (though wouldn’t it be awesome it if was?), and you could probably count on one hand the people you run into  who haven’t had anything terrible happen to them. Basically, what I am saying is that most of us have brushes and full on crashes with tragedy. It can come in the form of losing a love one, to financial ruin, all the way to an accident that leaves you with a disability. Whatever form it chooses to come in and no matter what the outcome, it has inevitably shaped your life in one way or the other. However, no matter how terrible the tragedy, we know that moving on is the most important part that comes out of an ordeal. No matter if it left you with a ding, a dent, or even missing something that you had before, you have the responsibility and ability to live your life despite all of these events.

Broken Lolly

Break my heart? That’s okay. Break my lolly? I’ll straight out cry.

 I say all of these because we all have those years. You know the ones I’m talking about, where your loved one leaves you, you loose your job, and your cat runs away- those kinds of years just happen. Once again, it’s something you can get through and should. Realizing that, in your life, moving along no matter what has happened is the only way to keep living to your fullest is perhaps the most important and responsible realization you could ever make.

And, yes, I said responsible. Allowing something to beat you into a deep, dark corner not only hinders your entire life, but it also does nothing for those who are around you. This can be anyone from your child to your dog (yes, pets get depressed too). It’s your responsibility to yourself, and to the ones you love, that you drag yourself back up and keep going on.

arm in cast

Move on, because happiness in the face of tragedy is epic defiance.

That’s the part I’m really talking about: the going on thing. As horrible as it is, you can see those people who  have experienced something terrible in their life, and they’ve never been able to move past it. It can be the job they lost twenty years back, the loved one that left them, or something looming from their past. Unable to continue on, their life has taken a side seat next to their sorrow. They have, in all senses, become defined by their tragedy. Don’t let that be you.

That quote up there is going out straight to you, person who has faced the terrible aka ‘the suck’. Yes, it has happened, but no you don’t have to let it grasp hold of your entire life. Push past, even if you have to fake it till you make it, and keep getting on.

_______________________

To sum it up: no matter how you’re feeling today, just know you can make it through anything that comes your way.

Mended Heart

You can get through this.

_______________________

In addition, for those of you who are just having one of those years, and you just want to hear someone who understands that happens sometimes, I introduce you to the Weepies and their song ‘ Not Your Year”. I know this song well because I too have had hard times, and it was just nice to hear someone who understood it.

_______________________

Anywho, that’s my take on things. If you’ve got a favorite ‘get back up and at ‘um’ or ‘nothing’s gonna stop me’ quote or song, feel free to post a link in the comments!

– The Procrastitorian

30 responses

  1. I’m new to WordPress, so thank you very much for liking my poem!

    1. No worries! I really enjoyed it 🙂 I’m rather new as well. I’ve only been around a month or so and I know how sparse likes can be when you first start out, so I try to spread the love as much as I can.

  2. good essay – ok to reblog?

  3. Reblogged this on Glad To Be Alive and commented:
    This is a good essay about the silver lining within the dark cloud. The video music is also very sweet.

  4. This is awesome, thank you. Heres a song I like when I’m feeling worn out and too far stretched: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bO3-FA1Kq-A

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it and I just added that song to my youtube playlist. It is way addictive!

    1. Okay, you officially have awesome taste in music lol. This one is great as well!

  5. Dear Procrastitorian,

    It is my great pleasure to nominate you for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”. You have surely earned this recognition, along with my great respect, mainly because of your wonderful writing that has truly inspired many all around the world. Please keep up your excellent work, and thanks for being around in the Blogosphere. You do make the difference.

    The rules are (as I understand) –

    1. Display The Very Inspiring Blogger Award logo on your blog. You can download it from
    http://dshenai.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/thanks-for-the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    2-Link back to the person who nominated you.

    3-State 7 things about yourself.

    4-Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link back to them.

    5-Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award requirements.

    Congratulations!

    Deo

    1. I can’t begin to thank you enough for nominating me! Honestly, this means so much to me right now, as I have really been working hard on getting this blog going. A million times a million thanks to you, even though that still isn’t enough to convey how grateful I am for receiving this. 🙂 As soon as I make it through my college work for today I’ll be making a post dedicated specifically about this!

  6. As a non-unicornitarian I’d like to say thanks for the literary cupcake, and I do believe I’ll adopt “fake it till you make it” as my own personal mantra until a better one comes along!

    1. Awesome! You’re welcome and that has worked for me for a very, very long time. I just keep going on, doing my best and acting like I’m where I want to be in life. Perfect way to feel and then, finally, when you get there it is even more amazing 🙂

  7. Reblogged this on mstmha and commented:
    I love the song even though I have been miserable for more than one year and counting still… This blog, is a good pick me up, I think even though sometimes the things that we undergo in life are not completely all our fault. But it is OK.

    1. Awesome! Glad you liked it ^_^ And yea, I know what you mean on having more than one year. Just got through five of really, really terrible things one right after the other but it finally is starting to get better. Just hang in there!

  8. What a terrific writer, yes pain is part of life, and conquering it is the winner in each of us. I am humbled by your following me. I too will follow you!

  9. I agree with you 100%, liked the song and thank you for following my blog!!

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it and thanks for stopping by!

  10. I can truly relate. Beautifully said. Thanks for visiting Life’s Little Surprises. Blessings.

    1. Thank you and I’m glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for stopping by here as well 🙂

  11. Excellent and what I needed to hear today! Thank you!

    1. And that’s exactly why I posted it 🙂 You’re very welcome and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  12. Thanks for liking my poem “Destiny”. I like your philosophy of life and will be following your blog.

    Cheers,
    Dennis

    1. Of course and thank you for the follow 🙂 I look forwards to reading more from you in the future.

  13. Thank you, I needed that 🙂 x

    1. You’re welcome and thanks for reading! 🙂

  14. What an inspiring article! so beautiful! 🙂 ♥

  15. By the way, with your permission, I added this link to my reblogged page, I really love this article of yours.

    1. Welll thank you for the like 🙂 and of course! I really appreciate the reblog and thanks a million for reading!

Speak, human, speak!

