Fortune Favors The Bold

talking

Fortune Favors The Bold

Last time I stopped to smell the roses,
I got stung five times in the face.
Last time I decided to take it slow,
I lost the godamned race.

My hands ended up empty
After the birds in the bush had fled,
Had I not counted my chickens,
I’d have invested in Apple instead,

And, when I stopped my wandering,
I caught something far worse than moss,
And now, instead of iPads,
My money’s all stuck in IHOPs.

And that thing I let go that loved me?
Well, it never came back,
And when this wheel tried to be squeaky
I ended up flat on my back.

So next time someone approaches me,
And tries to tell me all that they’ve beholden
I’ll shove a fist in their face
To remind them that silence is golden.

_____________________________

Another fun scrap of a poem that I cleaned up. It’s got a fun idea even though it’s a bit crude. Eventually, I’d like to change it around so, once again, you might be seeing a version two of this guy in the future!

12 responses

  1. yourothermotherhere | Reply

    LOL!

    1. Now there’s the reaction I was looking for! 😉 I’m really glad you enjoyed it.

  2. Not crude, I thought it was hilarious. Enjoyed reading this one ^_^

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I really had fun toying with the idea 🙂

  3. funny stuff – love the last line

    1. 🙂 I loved using that line lol. When I started working with the idea of using common proverbs, I knew what I was going for, but when I remembered that line, I instantly knew how I wanted the poem to end.

  4. Great
    it just sums up for some of us everyday life on the funny side….What If !!!!

    1. Thanks, I’m glad you liked it! 🙂 I really liked using the proverb Fortune Favors The Bold as the title, because some times you sit there and think ‘Man, if I had done things my way, they might have turned out better’ instead of taking all of that “good” advice.

  5. too funny

  6. The last two lines come as a hilarious surprise!

    1. 🙂 I’m glad you thought so. I really wanted to work those lines in lol

Speak, human, speak!

