Magpies and Martyrs

Tikrit Sunrise

Magpies and Martyrs

Magpies and martyrs,
Constellations and combat,
How beautiful this cradle of dust
and life.

Babylon’s lion roared as
Hanging gardens became
Bleeding walls, unchanged
by the repetition of time.

Called the land of beginnings
And the end; yet it is man
Who writes the finale
While nature’s blossoms bloom
From mass graves in memory
of their strife.

Life goes on despite
How we choose to spend
our time.

______________________

Okay, so this isn’t funny (obviously) but its something pulled out of my notebooks from back when I spent some time over in Iraq. Forgetting the good, the bad and everything that has to do with people, man just let me tell you I have never seen such beautiful sunrises and sun sets (that picture up there is actually one I took in the morning just to show you what I mean). And the stars! Most of us couldn’t even fathom how many stars you can see out there at night. I’m glad I had the chance to see that land despite all the rest. Anywho, this is one of my earlier works from sitting in the dust with a notebook and watching one of those funny little foxes going by. Hope you enjoy!

8 responses

  1. Thanks for sharing this, it can be so easy to forget that even in the darkest moments and surroundings, there is still beauty to be seen and appreciated if we will just learn to see. And we don’t have to go to Babylon to see what is right before us if we would only look. Great poem and message.

    1. Thank you and that is exactly the point. Too many people can only see the negative in things and I am eternally grateful for whatever made me an optimist. It’s like having a super power at times lol

  2. I enjoy your Voice … also, thank you for stopping by on my site. 🙂 Stay well. Blog ON! Shirley
    https://shirleydunnperry.wordpress.com/

    1. Thank you! And I have to say I absolutely love your blog! So neat and uncluttered!

  3. Yet another one that is thought threw. You are a true writer.

  4. Beautiful poem. I particularly love this section: “While nature’s blossoms bloom//From mass graves in memory//of their strife.” Fantastic imagery! Thanks for following my blog!

    1. Thank you and I’m glad you enjoyed it! Really love the work I’ve seen on your blog as well and I’ll be combing around through the archives soon 😉

Speak, human, speak!

