Holding On (Friday Fictioneers)

Holding On

Holding On

I noticed a really cool little writing prompt with a group called Friday Fictioneers, so I thought I’d give it a go. You’re supposed to tell a story in a hundred words based off the picture. Here’s my lil’ attempt.

___________________________

What was taking her so long? The pasture beneath his hooves was nearly a swamp! Should have been here by now. Been here to scold him like she always did. Give him one of those harsh talking tos that ended in sweet chuckles and a sugar cube.

It was fun to hear the old man curse his name in the distance while she stormed out in her dresses that always flowed like a well groomed mane.

But this had been going on two weeks now, and there were no sugar cubes. No dresses. No her.

He refused to let go.

______

Picture: Copyright –Douglas M. MacIlroy

76 responses

    1. Thank you! Normally I try to add some comedy in but the story idea just seemed to fit with the picture.

  1. glad you joined us
    very poignant / poor horse

    1. I couldn’t resist! It seems like such a fun lil’ thing to do every week, and spirits know I need to keep motivated.

  2. Poor horse. Too bad he can’t call the police. Welcome to FF, BTW. It’s more legal fun than you can find almost anywhere, so join us again.

    janet

    1. lol Thank you and I plan to!

  3. eerie. sends shivers up my spine.

    1. Now that’s what I like to hear! πŸ™‚

  4. nice work, great perspective and voice.

  5. What a fantastic idea…and a great piece of imagery you’ve written here!

    1. Isn’t it though? I was addicted the moment I saw it and thank you!

  6. I lovely lil story and a creative interpretation of the prompt. I may even peek at Friday Fictioneers … who knows what I could do with 100 words!

    1. Thank you and you should so try it! It’s really fun to be limited to such a tiny word count!

  7. Always love a un micro fiction this was a treat!

    1. Aren’t these little prompts fun? I’m glad you enjoyed this one, as it was my first attempt at this sort of thing. Hopefully I’ll be doing more of these in the future.

  8. Excellent debut! Welcome. This was sad and sinister at the same time. See you next week?

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ And of course! This prompt is such fun and I was really looking for something to keep me motivated and writing each week. Thank you for having such an awesome and fun idea!

  9. Aw, that’s so sad. It’s always touching when animals are so loyal to their humans. Reminds me a bit of a story I wrote for the Fictioneers a few months ago. (http://greenwalledtower.wordpress.com/2013/01/24/frankie-waits-friday-fictioneers/)

    1. Nicccee! Nothing like a loyal dog to make you tear up lol

  10. Nice story ! welcome to FF.. Its been fun with this photo prompt ! people are coming up with exciting new direction to their story ! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks! And isn’t that awesome? I checked out what other people had done and was quite impressed πŸ™‚

  11. Great story with a sad ending. You really made full use of the image from the photo prompt. Well done! πŸ™‚

  12. Nicely done. The horse will soon learn–you can’t always count on humans. I’m glad you joined us and look forward to reading more from you.

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

  13. I enjoyed this very much — it can be so hard to understand change.

    1. Thank you! I think especially so for an animal who has seen someone everyday.

  14. Sad story.

    1. I know! Normally I write funny things so this was a bit out of the ordinary, but it was what hit me when I looked at the picture.

      1. Hope to laugh next week.

      2. I’ll give it my best πŸ™‚

  15. Welcome to the fray. I wonder if the man has simply run her off, of if a more nefarious explanation is forthcoming.

    1. lol Thank you! I think I am going to enjoy this! And I really liked the fact that people can make their own assumptions about that part.

  16. A great story – I really felt for the poor horse waiting for her to come back. Excellent.

  17. … dresses that always flowed like a well groomed mane.
    I like this. The horse seems to identify in this with the woman asnanother horse. I wonder, with the horse, what has happened to the woman.

  18. … as another horse. Oops!

    1. I’m really glad you picked up on that! I wanted to show that he thought of her in his own terms, showing he really felt something for this woman. I also used “were no sugar cubes. No dresses. No her.” in that order as if he was thinking from least to greatest importance, showing that he just missed her being there more than anything else. Awesome job on picking up on that and thanks for reading!

      1. Well I thought the order: no sugar cubes, no dresses, no her, was how a horse might prioritise his loss. From the needs of his belly first (he is first of all, a crittur). Ann

      2. Very true! It’s good that someone can interpret it that way even though I feel he is a very sentimental horse for some reason lol.

  19. I love the POV from the horse’s perspective. You packed a lot of rich imagery in just a few sentences. I want to know more about what happened!

    1. Thank you! When I was drafting it, I read it out loud to a friend and he asked me “Well…what happened to her? I really want to know now!” I really wanted to leave the end open so people could come to their own conclusion πŸ™‚

  20. I really enjoyed your story – very well told, with longing and determination. I also wonder where she stormed off to…..

  21. Awww, that was lovely – and sad. It had me reaching for the Kleenex.

    1. Ty! It was odd for me to come up with something so serious/sad lol Normally my brain pumps out snarky or silly!

  22. Welcome to the group! Looks like you will add quite a lot. Nice story in a sad way. But I liked it πŸ™‚

  23. Oh so sad, and as usual I start to fantasize what could have happened to her.

  24. Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. I loved the horse’s identification with the woman in the description of her dress. I know that’s already been said. πŸ˜‰ A touching piece and a lovely first entry.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    1. Thank you! I’m really glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

  25. Oh my..I wonder what happened to her.

  26. Those last lines are very moving!

  27. I enjoyed that! Hope to see more of your work!

  28. The horse’s voice captures a beautiful simplicity, and his refusal to “let go” is…such a sad personification.

    1. Thank you! I very rarely do sad stories, so I was worried this would be over the top or not done enough!

  29. Very humorous story! Thank you for following my blog.

    1. Thank you and ty for stopping by as well! πŸ™‚

  30. Oooh that sounds like a fun weekly challenge! I might have to have a go!

    1. It so is! I highly recommend it as I’ll be swinging by to give it a go again tonight πŸ™‚

  31. Hi The Procrastitorian. Good. Thank you for liking my poem ‘ Hotel’. The Foureyed Poet.

  32. Cute and wistful at the same time. Hope she comes back! Or horsie is better off without her anyways

  33. Cute. Resourceful horse! Just needs to find a handy trough, next.

    1. I know! I so love the horse in this story. Hopefully I will be able to use him agian!

  34. Fanstastic little piece, really enjoyed it, really enjoyed the sentiment behind it, nicely done. πŸ™‚

    1. πŸ˜€ Why, thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Speak, human, speak!

