Locomotion

Walking Woman

Locomotion

Coffee filters
float like
dandelion dreams
when locomotive
steam drawn
women thunder
by.

_____________________________________

I know that there are some women that, when they are angry, don’t really say anything, but they have that sense of purpose to their movement. It’s that brisk-stiff, I’m suddenly-silent-and-cleaning-everything-ferociously sort of movement. I, for example, do this and, as a result, I usually end up knocking loose papers off the fridge or, in one case last night, of sending a few stray coffee filters into the air. I also reeeallly like the fact that locomotive starts with loco, ’cause there is just a bit of that crazy-mad in me that gets me walking around all fast aka being steam powered as I thunder through the kitchen.

13 responses

  1. There is sometimes an accompanying mutter under the breath on the exit – an iambic triad – punctuated by the slam of a door behind her.

  2. I appreciate both the poem and the inspiration behind it. Good work.

    1. Thank you! And I really thank you for taking the time to comment on it 🙂

  3. It’s not a bad way to get things clean… takes half the time as when you are cheery!

    1. I agree with that 100%! Wayyy more motivation goes into something so boring lol

  4. lol I agree

  5. Use big bottle of hand sanitizer it works everywhere cept down there. N dont put it on plants it kills em ????
    thank you sis for ur loco coffee i wished i had a cup right now

  6. I really like you little explanatory blurbs, too.

    1. Thank you! I try to add a lil’ just to connect with people and let them know what’s going on with the story 🙂

      1. You are quite good at connecting…

Speak, human, speak!

