Strength Through Adveristy

Strength Through Adversity

Strength Through Adversity

Kick me.

Go on, I’m asking you to.
Not intentionally,
but I refuse to wade through
less infested waters.

Swindle me, just like you
think you can. Laughing
behind smiles, showing
true faces that demand
an ugly interior.

I learn to walk
in ways no one can follow
and recognize faces
that mask rotten souls.

Go a head, keep kicking
and keep swindling.
You’re only trimming
the rose bush.

Break me.

I dare you.

Try.

_____________________________________________

Merry Monday, my fri- *dodges the onslaught of half emptied coffee mugs and staplers*   Yeah, I deserve that for attempting to put the words Merry and Monday in the same post, let alone sentence. Anywho, thought I’d start off the week with a bit of motivation for getting through it. You know things in life are always going to be there. Crappy situations. Crappier people. Mondays.  However, I am a firm believer that life is one gigantic learning experience, and even ‘the suck’ can be turned into a positive experience. Yeah, I know that might be a bit too much optimism for this early in the week, but give it a try. Might surprise yourself.

8 responses

  1. Merry Monday to you too. May you and your cupcakes pour out words in your mind, to pour out to paper.

  2. That’s what I love about writing…How just a few words placed next to each other can brighten your day. Bravo, friend, you just made me smile on this terrible Monday!

    1. I’m really glad you enjoyed it 🙂 And you’ve helped me reach my ‘make at least one person smile’ per week quota! Hope you enjoy the rest of your week!

  3. What’s not to love about this poem? about this attitude? Do your worse, go ahead, try, you won’t get to me!! Awesome poem!

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! It is, in my opinion, the best way to look at life.

  4. This is easily my favorite of your poems you have written because it speaks to me most. You mentioned that you liked to know when someone shares your articles, so I’d like to let you know I reposted this article on my wordpress blog. Happy trails. (:

    1. 😀 I’m really glad you enjoyed this one, and I have a special place for it as well. And awesomeness! Ty for the repost!

Speak, human, speak!

