Crunching Numbers

Grating, grinding,
pulverizing
decimals,
fractions, percents.

Head pounding,
pressure
rising
rieling frustrations;

anger, fear, resent.
_________________________________________
This poem is probably a good indication that I shouldn’t balance my checkbook
when I’m in a bad mood. At the same time, I struggle with math anxiety in
general, though I have, thankfully, found out that I’m pretty good at
statistics which is my only saving grace. Take those two things and combine
them together and, boom, you get Crunching Numbers.

10 responses

  1. pssst can I send you my checkbook too? πŸ™‚ loved the word choices, so short and descriptive, emphasized the anxiety and frustration so well. One small suggestion, “grateing” should be “grating” no “e”. Hides apologetically under a rock for allowing his editor mode to sneak out. πŸ™‚

    1. I’m glad you liked it and thank you for catching that! I can always use the help on catching typos πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

  2. Reblogged this on Rebell Red Arts and commented:
    so relatable .

    1. Awesome! Ty for letting me know πŸ™‚

  3. you should seriously stay away from checkbooks!!! πŸ˜€

  4. Numbers are your friend πŸ˜‰

    1. Numbers and me? We’re frenemies.

Speak, human, speak!

