A Matter Of Perspective (Friday Fictioneers)

two oil lamps on a kitchen table

A Matter of Perspective

Fourteen months ago, things got crazy. Twelve months ago, the lights went out. Two months ago, everything got real quiet. Dead quiet you might say. That’s a joke right there.

People talked about the tragedy. Talked about horror and shame. Sittin’ here, can’t say I see any horror. Definitely no shame.

Ain’t no more light and gas bills. No more work. A man can take what he wants. Like my shopping buggy there. Been staring at that thing for damn near eight years.

Sky’s blue. Road’s quiet. Bird’s are chirping.  Apocalypse-somocalypse.

World seems like a mighty fine place to me.

_______________________________________________________________

Link to Linked

 Here’s my post for the Friday Fictioneers prompt this week! As my second attempt, I can say these things are actually a lot of fun. Gives you something to think about and gives you a little practice. Overall, I think I am going to have to make a habit of this!

For this week’s prompt, I tried to go back to my humorous roots and put a little fun spin on the apocalypse. I mean, to the average person yeah it would suck. You know. Death. Zombies. That sort of stuff. But what about for a misanthrope? Or a survivalist? Common, even a good ol’ country boy might have a bit of fun. This guy here sure thinks it is swell 😉    I mean, just think of all the free time. Not to mention all the free stuff! Ohhh, common you know it’s true. I got a list of places I am raiding first as soon as the lights go out 😉  Sing it with me folks: A lootin’ we will we go, A lootin’ we will go. Hi-ho the dary-o, a lootin’ we will go!

47 responses

  1. Fictioneering is definitely habit-forming! Your narrator has the perfect point of view for a survivor! And now he also has his shopping cart. Life is good.

    Enjoy your Friday,

    janet

    1. Lol exactly! Thanks for reading it!

  2. You are quite silly. I can’t imagine scoring any great things without electricity. 🙂 A fun story none the less. Oh batteries! 😆

    1. “You are quite silly” – I take that as a huge compliment 😀 And, man, I’ve got an entire list of things I can think about I’d want. There’s the stuffed elk head from the steak house, that gigantic picture of Carry Grant from Ruby Tuesdays, and a bunch of assorted little things!

  3. “Like my shopping buggy there. Been staring at that thing for damn near eight years.”
    Beautiful way to not only humanise the narrator but to tie the real world to your story. He is a real person. Seems like a mighty fine piece.

    1. I’m glad you liked that! He was such a fun character to think about, really. I mean, I’ve got his whole back story in my head especially when it comes to the fact he’s got this country feel to him but he is obviously living in a place that looks like a suburb and other lil’ tid bits 🙂

  4. I like a positive outlook! Nice twist on the apocalyptic theme. Enjoyed it.

    1. Thank you! As I mentioned in the post, there might be a little bit of a bright side to the apocalypse like…think of all the free candy bars just laying around! I would be all over that 🙂

  5. Who knew candles could inspire such morbid themes? I really liked this one’s story and, as others have said, the perspective.
    –JW

    1. Thank you! And I know. I think there’s something a bit funny when everyone sees oil lamps and instantly gasps, realizing the lights aren’t on lol. It hit me as well and my first thought was something bad had happened. I think I’m a bit too dependent on electricity 🙂

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  6. I like an optimist, great take on the prompt this week
    Dee

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I always try to look for something funny/positive to write about.

  7. Wonderful writing – it just trips off your tongue. I thought this was great – and a unique outlook on the apocalypse!

  8. Brilliant – such an unusual take on the concept – loved it!! 🙂

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’m really glad you enjoyed it!

  9. A practical man! Excellent 🙂

    1. Isn’t he? The type of person you’d expect do fine after everyone else has started shivering in their darkened corners 🙂

  10. I love post-apocalyptic takes like this! Fantastic voice, fantastic use of the prompt, all-around made me grin. 🙂

    1. Mission accomplished! I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  11. Sounds like there will be winner in the post apocalypse

    1. I know! It’s like his dream come true.

  12. A different take on apocalypse than what I’m used to, and I like your creativity with it. Surely, some people would enjoy no more bills and filling up those shopping carts.

    1. Thank you! And yes they would!

  13. I enjoyed this so much, it is dripping with my somewhat twisted sense of humor!! And btw the moose head is MINE!!!! 🙂

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it and to the best looter goes the, er, loot! (The best looter also being the one who can run/grab/hide/ dodge thrown wrenches the fastest)

  14. “Does not compute, Danger Will Robinson, Danger”…
    Ack…you’ve discovered I’m human after all.
    Yep Friday Fictioneers is addictive to this poet…I ended up writing two this week just because that little light bulb, in this case a gas lantern got lit.

    I like quiet too. There can be positives to most situations. Thanks for your visit.

  15. It’s all about attitude, although I don’t think that shopping cart of his is going to hold much. What a loot…I mean hoot.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    1. lol! And I know, that cart seriously has to be a little display, like a promotional giveaway or something

  16. love how your story’s so unique and love the voice that you used in this tale. really enjoyed this story

    1. Thank you! I’m really glad you enjoyed it ^_^

  17. love your story about this one content person…but i’m just thinking about no electricity=cold showers…eek! 🙂

    1. Lol, I’d feel the same way but I have an odd feeling that this guy could probably figure out how to get some hot water hooked up. He seems pretty resourceful 😉

      1. always handy to have one of those guys around! ha ha. 🙂

  18. I wonder where he got the shopping cart from, that he’s been lusting after it so long. I enjoyed your novel take on the end of the world – I think I missed you last week, so Welcome to the Fictioneers!

    1. Thanks for the warm welcome!

  19. I read it in a redneck voice and it sounded great. To quote Hank Williams Jr.; A country boy can survive!

    1. lol thank you! And that is a perfect quote for this story 🙂

  20. What a marvelous attitude. I like him!

    1. Me too! He’s a rather interesting character and I can just picture him all kicked back, enjoying the ‘end of the world’ and such. He was one of those ideas that just kinda wrote himself.

      1. I love when that happens!

  21. Ah no more bills… Bring on the apocalypse I say if that is the case. Thanks for making me smile with that story and thanks also for following my blog 🙂

    1. I know! I feel the exact same way: bring on the zombies if I can stop having to get up at six in the morning 🙂

  22. Very entertaining slant.
    We Elephants, of course, don’t really care!

    1. I’m quite sure that elephants are going to do rather well in the apocalypse as well. You know, with not a lot of humans left to bother you 😉

Speak, human, speak!

