The Gossip

clock image with woman on it

The Gossip

Her face hangs long
and narrow with
eyes clacking
back and forth,
left to right,
tick to tock,

Keeping measures,
meters of importance,
social grace,
water cooler rumors,
her mind counting down,
her gears winding
up,

turning moments
into memories,
tying minutes to
her tongue, waiting
to open her mouth
and let it rock,
back and forth,
left to right,
tick to tock.

______________________________________

You know ‘um, they’re everywhere: it’s the dreaded gossip. No matter where you go, they are always lingering in hallways or listening intently behind the walls of their cubicles. It’s those annoyingly obtrusive people who just can’t get enough of everyone around them because they have no life of their own. For some reason, I though the imagery of a clock fit because they are just there, counting moments and committing your time to their own life.  Like time itself, they are stealing bits and pieces of your life and taking it along for their own ride. Nasty, vicarious little things! Hope you enjoyed Monday’s poem and here’s to hoping you have a week that’s free of these dreaded things 🙂

15 responses

    1. Thank you! And here’s to hoping you have an awesome week as well 🙂

  1. have a great week 😀

  2. What a perfect description in poetic form of the ‘gossip’ with a really excellent metaphor IMHO.

  3. Very, very good! Thank you!

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  4. I agree, a clock is the perfect image for those who have nothing better to do but gossip. Good post.
    God Bless,
    Donna

  5. Great mask poetry. Like it.

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  6. Wonderful placement of sounds in this poem, which perfectly fit a gossip. I really like this.

    Thanks for following my poetry blog! 🙂

    1. Thank you! I really felt as though the clock fit for some reason.

  7. shanesbookblog | Reply

    I just read your 3 most recent posts.

    I am so glad I did they are amazing! You have such unique wordplay and a beyond entertaining flow in your poems!

    You write like you have been doing this since the day you were born.

    such emotion and strength wrapped up in something everybody can understand even people reading poetry for the first time.

    The topics are something most everybody has experienced before and that provides an instant connection!

    No other way to explain your art besides if it you sold your poems I would be broke in a heart beat.

    Love your work!

    1. 😀 <– That's honestly the face I feel I have after reading this. I can't thank you enough for your kind words that have, undoubtedly, made my entire week! (I'm quite sure my ego is off purring happily in a corner some where with a copy of your comment.)

      It's also very nice to hear that someone has noticed what I put into my posts. You've actually managed to point out the elements I go for in all of my works: easy to understand, something everyone can connect with, and a (hopefully) smooth read.

      Thanks a million for your kind words, and thank you for reading!

Speak, human, speak!

