Poetry Is Dead

Hand rising from ground

Poetry Is Dead

So they said,
epitaphs wrote in texts,
in tweets, on
screens,
but they never saw it coming,
groaning, twitching
back to life,
it opened clouded eyes,
scratched fingers across granite
tombs of etched bigotry.

It rose!

It walked among the living,
snatching children,
ripping chunks from hearts
with infection teeth,
shambling among campuses,
in subways,
along crowded streets.

It thrived!

Moaning memories, it
brought the dead back to
life, amassing armies
of its own kind, turning
texts, and tweets, and
screens into devices,
vessels to breech
borders, pandemic spreading,
growing fiercer all the time.

It lives!

Through touch,
through bites,
through minds,
it passes between lips
and lingers behind eyes.

It.
Is.
Alive.

And the apocalypse it brings
leaves a better world behind,
so shut up, get bit, or
fall silently in line.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I’ve just heard that damned saying so many times I thought I’d throw this up in defense of that tired line. I get it, most people think of poetry as lofty prose with convoluted meanings. However, I also understand that most people coming to this blog do not, so this is hopefully something to make you smile! Once again, I think this is going to have to be another work in progress, as I am done at about 4am and this is scheduled to get posted around 830am. It was a rough idea I just really wanted to make work before I turned in for the night, err…morning I mean!

41 responses

  1. Some things never die…

    1. Exactly! I can’t see a medium such as poetry ever not being around.

  2. Oh no,
    poetry cannot be dead,
    there is a rythem abound
    that chases the mind around,
    brings out the imagination,
    makes the soul sing all around,
    gives one peace to the soul
    and grants the mind relaxation.

    1. Awesome! 😀 Ty for posting it!

  3. I’ve actually never heard many people say poetry is dead. I hear ‘I hate poetry’ from a lot of people for no reason and that’s it a lame, boring art. Great poem to prove them wrong.

    1. Thank you! And, you know, I really wonder who started the whole ‘poetry is dead thing’ to begin with. I think I’ll have to some searching around!

      1. Honestly, it sounds like something an overly dramatic poet would say. That or a college student who failed Poetry 101.

  4. The Poetry is dead! Long live The Poetry!

  5. Hi the Procratitorian!

    I red it twice and liked it a lot. I won’t write more, it’s worth to spar my time to read Poetry is dead, on ce again ^^

    Have a nice day,
    fbna

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed this one 🙂

  6. Poetry will never be dead. There will always be artistic souls with soul inspired words.

    1. Exactly. I just heard a story on NPR about how more people are writing today than ever before, thanks to mediums like texts and tweets! Those who say poetry is dead just haven’t taken a good look around.

  7. Lol..will laughter help?

    1. Of course! Laughter helps everything 😉

  8. People saying “poetry is dead” or “I hate poetry” simply fuels the fire of wordsmiths to burn even stronger.

  9. I think poetry is evolving, but definitely not dying. Thank you for this post 🙂

    1. You’re welcome and exactly! With things like micro poetry on twitter, and thousands of blogs being accessible, I think poetry is going to be around for a very, very long time.

  10. I may have nightmares about poetry tonight. It livessssss! Lol, I loved it.

    1. lol. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  11. Whoever said that! Poetry will die only when all humanity does, and that day I hope will never come!

  12. I’m really enjoying your poetry–thanks for sharing & Happy National Poetry Month! 😀

    1. Well, thank you 🙂 I’m glad you are enjoying it and same to you!

  13. thanks! these 450 plus bound on the shelf have lives!!!!!

    1. I know! It has to be a sad day when someone thinks that such an amazing art form is ‘dead’.

  14. Hah. I was actually just fuming over the “poetry is dead” concept this week; there are few forms of writing that compact such thick meaning into so little text, and that so brilliantly coax out the musical and spatial beauties of language.

  15. Hello,

    I haven’t been affected by the ” Poetry is dead” syndrome around me.

    But I feel that way, when somebody yells at my writings, because there aren’t serious, they don’t pay the bills. When a person complains about my verses, because they divert adults from the real life.
    Poor people. It makes me sad for them & for the relationship consumed by this nonsense.
    If they only knew how a poetic life is a great, funny, rich and unexpected journey!

    Have a nice day,
    far but not away.

    1. I know exactly what you mean. It is really sad to think about what causes a person’s actions, but good on you for realizing you can feel pity for those people. No matter what they say, I just stay positive and beam a smile at them anyway! Ty for commenting and checking out my blog 😀

      1. Weel, you know… There are some stuffs in life that move you so deeply, that you don’t want to let the go 😉

  16. This is absolutely fabulous. One of the best I have encountered in the blogosphere.

    Side question: With Twitter in full bloom…will the haiku make a comeback…?

    1. 🙂 Awww, thank you! You know, I have actually noticed a crap ton on here. Really. I have never seen so many haikus in my life. Basically, yeah, I think they are making a big come back. However, for my feelings on hakuis themselves, hit here 😀

      1. Well said.
        They always frustrated me in literature classes.
        Bunch of artsy-fartsy asses…
        :op

  17. Poetry – “…of the people, by the people, for the people…”

  18. […] mind with its truth. Hope whoever stumbles on this link enjoys as much as I did! Presenting…Poetry Is Dead, from the […]

    1. 😀 I’m glad you enjoyed it! Ty for reposting!

Speak, human, speak!

