Century Bruise

Clocks

Century Bruise

Today I felt fear, a shiver,
the ricochet of a mortal quiver,
reminding me that I am no more than
a bruise that lingers ‘a surface’,
a blemish that lies on life’s
resilient hide, an impact no more
memorable or permanent than all the
blows suffered before it.

That I am the after effect of an action,
a vibrant ripple on a wounded canvas,
a swath of violence’s vivid writhe that,
like all theatrical beings, fades away into
the subtle, soothing tides of time where
obscurity awaits to envelop, erase, and
derive, that which struggles, forms and strikes –

I shutter, for I am only the inflicting omen
of another life.

_________________________________

Happy Friday! Hope you enjoyed this little momento mori and may it serve as a reminder that you just need to get out and live your life. We’re only centennials if we’re lucky, folks, so get up off your hides and enjoy your time while it’s still yours to spend! Here’s to hoping your weekend is awesome!

17 responses

  1. Nice reflection on mortality, really like the bit about obscurity waiting in the wings.

    1. Thanks! It’s a frightening thought how eventually everything fades, which is all the reason to make as big of an impact as possible! At least that is what I keep telling myself 🙂

  2. I loved this. Great writing!

    1. Thank you! I’m really glad you enjoyed it. I had fun writing this one. It was one of those mad dashes at my white board where I just started writing it all at once.

  3. Yep! Why is it that the fact: we are going to die, is so elusive in our daily life. Nice one!

    1. Thank you! And, yeah, I have a special place in my heart for those momento mori poems and stories like this. Keeps me fighting to just as much done as I possibly can.

      1. Dude! I’m living in South Korea these days. The news does bring this more to the forefront! …So, hey, that’s one good thing the news has done for me lately. Best wishes, Joan

  4. Another one to be read with appreciation for awesome wording.

  5. Beautifully written! Love this

    1. 😀 Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  6. Beautifully written, I loved the flow of this.

    1. Thank you 😀 The flow is something I reallllyyy enjoyed about writing this one. For some reason, it just started rolling and went by itself.

  7. As Eric Alagan says… “The Written Word Never Dies”. Sorry, you can’t fade away. 😀

    1. I don’t get to fade into obscurity? Drats 😉

      1. Should have thought about that before you started writing. LOL

  8. Very cool—so many ways to take this. On one level it speaks perhaps of what some would find as the raptures of an existentialist crisis, or, it is the thorn that leaves a multidimensional wound—a psychic crisis as Dr. Stanislav Grof, would say…

    1. Nice analysis! Ty for giving such a deep comment and I’m really glad you enjoyed it 😀

Speak, human, speak!

