The Weaver

Woman on weaving loom

The Weaver

I draw straws from
my memories, fibers
from which to weave
these coarse lines,
forcing tapestries
together, constructing
rough depictions of
my life.

__________________________________________________________

Another little short one today, but this one focuses on where I pull inspiration from. When I sit and think of what I want to write (on the days where something isn’t coming to me and my muse has taken yet another trip to New Zealand without me), I begin to run first back over the day I’ve had. If nothing comes up, I keep going further and further back in my mind to the week, the month, until I finally get to years. Here and there I might pluck a thought and, together, they finally come together to form an idea which eventually turns into the poems you see here.

13 responses

  1. What an excellent metaphor IMHO.

  2. I enjoyed your explanation almost as much as the poem. I always wonder how poets are inspired, what whispers they hear that drive them to put pen to paper, or fingers to keys. And I am jealous, my Muse never gets to run off to New Zealand, geesh!

    1. I’m really glad you enjoyed the explanations as I was a little worried when adding those. I didn’t know if it would detract from the poem, but the comments seem to suggest it is a good thing! Lol. Ohh, it is New Zealand this week, probably Hawaii the next to chill on the beaches of Maui, and then he might be able to pencil me in for some inspiration some time next month. Don’t be jealous, he is terribly hard to get a hold of.

  3. Love the poem and explanation. Great to share and demystify the poetry writing process. Thank you

    1. Well, thank you 🙂 I really like giving a little back story to each one and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    1. Ermmmm…always having typos when commenting. It’s just my excuse of saying I got pretty excited by the beauty of your words 🙂

      1. Lol No worries, as I think I have a typo demon always sitting on my shoulder! And thank you so much, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  4. It’s always good to receive a ‘like’ but even better to be able to send one. Thanks.

Speak, human, speak!

