Weathering The Storm

storm scenery

Weathering The Storm

The world, it can be wicked,
tossing to the wind what we
thought we knew, dashing beloved
memories against boulders, and
undoing what we’ve held so
tightly to,

but only through destruction,
do we learn to weather storms,
and only through abduction
do we learn what’s in store.

There’s a power in rebuilding,
being a phoenix among the ash,
we learn the answers to petty
questions, and the ones we
really need to ask,

We find out what’s important
who really loves us, what we need,
and we end up better people
because of tragedy.

So rise and be reminded that,
no matter what you’re going
through, the tempest can be
outlasted, and become a part
of you,

You can learn to harness
lightning, you can be the
brightest flash, the lighthouse
gleam of guidance for those
too afraid to ask.

You can summon forth the gale
winds and use them to fuel
the winds of change, you can
call down the heavy torrents to
help wash away the pain,

And you’ll learn to speak like thunder,
you’ll boom with every breath,
and with every new challenge that
faces you, you’ll grow stronger yet.

So become that force of nature
that in tragedy is reborn, and know
you can become a better person
from just weathering the storm.

_____________________________________________

Mornin’, folks. So this isn’t my normal Monday post, but this hasn’t exactly been a normal week, so I whipped up something that I’ve had in the works for a while to kick it off.  Hopefully, for anyone going through anything, this poem might shed some light on how to turn a bad situation into something good. It sucks when ‘the suck’ is happening, but we can choose to come out of it as better, stronger people. All you have to do is just keep going, and once you’ve made it through you’ll be battle ready when something decides to come at you again. Better yet, you’ll be able to help/talk someone through that sort of situation.

Anywho, thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy this simple rhyme.  It may be a bit crude, but the sentiment is what is truly in it’s heart.

22 responses

  1. Well said..and I wholeheartedly concur! It is in weathering the storm that we realize our growth!

  2. Thank you for offering us the positive side of trials that we will encounter in all our lives. Reminded me of that song that goes, “I can see clearly now the rain is gone. I can see all the obsticals in my way.” To believe no trials should come your way is unrealistic….and unhealthy. To embrace them as learning and growing opportunities is healthy. 🙂 Too often, poetry is used to expel and expose inner and outer demons. I appreciate you using poetry to impart the blessing of positive thought. Thanks again!

    1. That song is actually my #1 favorite from when I was young. I have it from a really, really early memory and it has always held a positive feeling for me 🙂 And I’m glad you enjoy my positive spin on things. I try to keep things light as I know life is heavy and serious enough as it is!

      1. Yes life is! That is why I appreciated this so much. We need more writers like you to counter the burdens life brings to our heart and minds.

  3. Beautifully said.
    Cheers,
    Jennifer
    Beautiful photo!

    1. Thank you! And isn’t it? I’m a huge fan of storms…when not in their path, of course 🙂

  4. Yes! And that by surviving different crappy scenarios, we can learn to lighten up and laugh about it. Even as it appears to be hitting the fan! 🙂 Thank you!

    1. You are welcome and thank you for commenting! I think learning to laugh at things is probably one of the most important, and the hardest lesson to learn in life as well, but boy is it worth it in the end. 🙂

  5. So well written. Your poem touches me in a raw place today. Your sentiments bring tears to my heart. I had the kind of day where I needed a helping hand to steady me in a storm. Your poem has provided that anchor. Thank you and be very blessed. Michele

    1. Thank you so much, and I am truly glad that this poem found its way to you! Honestly, that is why I write: to try and make someone’s day just a little better. Here’s to hoping you have a far better week and thank you so much for reading 🙂

      1. Thank you for your healing words. You’re so wonderful. Today is a better day 🙂

    1. 😀 Thank you! I’m really glad you found it so.

  6. This is my first visit to your blog and I really like this poem. It really resonates with the old saying that ‘what doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger’ and as we all navigate our way through trying times, it’s really beneficial lesson to learn. Thank you for a great blog and post. 🙂

    1. Exactly! And thank you so much for your amazing compliment. I try to always point out a positive aspect of dealing with a situation, or at least channeling the frustration into something constructive.

  7. Beautiful poem, thank you 🙂

    1. Thank you and you are welcome! I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  8. Having a wrench thrown into the works now and again is necessary, not only to allow us to grow, but to remind us to treasure the good times. Good all the time becomes mundane.

  9. brilliant! you just got yourself another follow 🙂 looking forward to look around some more in this inspiring and quite honest space, as I sense it.

    1. Awww, well thank you 😀 I’m glad my rammbling is interesting enough to keep you around! I swear when I am reading it outloud I can barely get the dogs to stay in the room 😉

Speak, human, speak!

