No Rest For The Wicked

No Rest For the Wicked

No Rest For The Wicked

Wicked, the name given because
of pure ambition, the drive that
separates me from those who have
given up their dreams in turn for
what might be considered a safer
secure “i-do-alright’ kind
of life, the title corralling me
out of commonalities and placing
me behind lines drawn, mind boggling
technicalities that would see me waste
my life away if I try to play the
game that they set out right,
refusing to jump through hoops
I end up on my own life blood,
the essence of my own time,

So I must stalk through shadows
in search of success and wade
through early morning hours
in pursuit of my happiness
while time slips mercilessly
ever onward in despite of my
drooping eyes and caffeine weakens,
the effects draining over time,
till I am left running on my
will alone though, thankfully,
it is on it that and my strengthening
pride that allows me on fumes
of consciousness to ride into the
sunrise coated horizon where I find
that, yet again, I’ve walked a line
that was thin and yet I did alright –

they say there’s no rest for the wicked
and, well, without it us ‘wickeds’ seem
to do just fine.

________________________________________________

Once again, back to a raw poem written at around two in the morning due to the hectic schedule I’m stuck on! I’ve got about three posts to get done but, once I do, I’ll be back on track with the stories/posts that need done on here. Thankfully, the new PC is working out alright and I’m already growing fond of it! That being said, I’m still forced into early morning hours, running on sheer will power alone rather than actual sleep or energy. Honestly, it is a wonder I haven’t just collapsed yet. Anywho, hope you enjoy the ranting above and, even more hopefully, I’ll be back on top of my posts this week!

22 responses

  1. Nude emotions running high unabated. It is like seeing myself in the mirror, only through another pair of eyes. Loved your work.

    1. Thank you! I’m really glad you could relate to it, always makes me feel like my writing has a purpose other than uselessly filling my time!

      1. I guess we all attempt to universalise our personal sphere through poetry: the best remedy to our feeling of purposelessness and otiose void.

    1. I so love it to! Borderlands is actually one of my favorite games of all times due to the story, and the sheer amount of guns!

  2. I loved this and the image is great!
    Jennifer

  3. I can relate to it.
    Two thumbs up.

    1. Thank you and I’m glad to know there are other people out there living on the lines as well!

  4. Glad to see you’re getting back on top of ‘things’ – it makes me feel there’s hope for me, going to try to catch up with everything this week!!!
    David
    PS thanks for visiting http://ja2da.com

    1. Thank you and here is to hoping you catch up as well! It can be so hard with life being as hectic as it is sometimes, but it feels great to be back at it again.

  5. Human speaking here…just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award…kudos. Here’s the link:
    http://heresnews.wordpress.com/

    1. Thank you!!! Seriously, that is far too kind of you 😀 Thank you for thinking of me.

  6. Reblogged this on moon soup (no bowl, no moon) and commented:
    As if the Procrstitorian has ever lived up to the name- 2 a.m. is a good time for poetry.

  7. Nice… 🙂

    “while time slips mercilessly
    ever onward in despite of my
    drooping eyes and caffeine weakens”

    1. 😀 Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I really like some of the lines in this guy.

  8. Big thumbs up for this poem! Raw and true and right down my alley and a nightowl too I see 😉 (and thanks a mill for the follow)

    1. Thank you! And ohhhh, yes. I don’t actually become a cognitive creature until after 11pm which, of course, does not go well when my job starts at 8 in the morning!

Speak, human, speak!

