Shooting Sparrows

Shooting Sparrows

Shooting Sparrows

You’re spittin’ in the wind, kid,
Living like that, life ain’t never gonna change,
it’s a summary of what we did
and the strength that we’ve maintained.

There’s a limited supply of life so
Pick your battles carefully,
learn when to fight and when it’s
best to just go ahead and  fold.

Master the art of bowing out gracefully,
finding out what matters and,
occasionally, remembering what you’ve
been told, or all you’ll do is, in the end,
wind up shooting sparrows and
regretting that you’ve grown old.

________________________

Advice from an old-timer, right there. Well, not really. I’m not really sure if I saw it somewhere or just plucked it out of my head, but the term ‘shooting sparrows’ has been one I use to describe doing meaningless things, or putting your effort behind something pointless. Sure, you can keep on doing it, but its such a common thing that it’s no real prize and its rather meaningless in the end.

Start I’d kick off the week with this lil’ thing to get it going as I get back to my posting schedule now that I am nearly done with settling into a new job and getting my last semester at the college underway. It’s been  a tiring  bumping road but I just had to figure out where to focus and now I might actually be getting back to things alright! Here’s to hoping that the rest of your week is awesome, and that your boss is out sick for the week!

23 responses

  1. Good reminder! Touching picture! Wish the kids who need to read this would have the brains to GET it!
    But great post!

    1. LOL I know, if only, right?

  2. I have to say I quite liked this!!! 🙂 Found myself, nodding my head and bumping along with your “sage advice” and picturing us sitting on the beaten old wooden front porch steps of a country grocery store sippin’ coke or 7up from the old glass bottles… Almost as if we were sitting back in a time that has “done gone by”….sad in a way…but loved the nostalgia your words brought back! Thank you…Hope you have a great week!

    1. I am so glad that image got through! Really, that is the tone I wrote it in while imagining some old timer talking to a kid 😀 And thank you!

  3. Reblogged this on Reason & Existenz and commented:
    good advice for a monday and a first-day-of-the-rest-of-your-life-day

    1. Nice! Ty for the reblog and I’m really glad you enjoyed it!

  4. That was really good.

    1. Thanks! I have wanted to work ‘shooting sparrows’ into a poem for a long while and I am glad I finally found the opportunity.

  5. Good words… Sound advice!

  6. rofl! my boss IS, in fact, out for the week!

    1. LOL Lucky you! Enjoy it why you can 🙂

      1. I AM lucky – I have a great boss – he’s actually NOT a sociopath!

      2. Awesome! That is sooo rare to hear lol

  7. Wonderful poem, wonderful!

    1. Thank you 🙂 I really liked using the tone in this one, and I was dying to work ‘shooting sparrows’ into a poem.

  8. I nominated you for the shine on award. Should you choose to accept, please follow the instructions posted on my home page. I like your blog!

    1. Thank you! Honestly, you are far too kind. Thank you a million times a million 🙂

  9. Nice! A simple expression of a piece. Nice. Good centerpiece -“shooting sparrows”! Nice coinage.

  10. very nicely writen

  11. Thank you for such a thought-provoking poem.

    1. 😀 You’re welcome and thanks a million for reading!

Speak, human, speak!

