Distractions

Distractions

Distractions

Life it swept me
off my feet, sent me
careening down crowded
streets, and flooded my memories
till my dreams seemed to leak,
water through holes punched by
nit-picking complacencies,
and my lungs filled, worries
soothed by sirens eagerly smiling
at thoughts of my demise
but then, somewhere amidst
the rocks, I snagged on a line,
a single drop of red smoking
into blue hues of regular life
and my eyes flew open, I
choked, sputtered, and grasped
for light, kicking free of all
those spiteful sprites,
I parted liquid with hands
that brushed formalities aside
and, breaking the surface, I drew
a type of breath that reminds the worth
that comes from swimming
against the tides.

__________________________________________________

There really aren’t any lifeguards on duty here, folks, and that makes it easy for us to just slip off our life path and into some murky waters that really aren’t going to get us anywhere.  This is just a little poem to remind you that, sometimes, it takes a painful little reminder- just enough to call you back to your purpose in life- before you start kicking for the surface again!  Hope you enjoyed and here’s to a happy hump-day. May your coffee taste awesome and your Friday feel not so far away!

14 responses

  1. So you regain what seemed to be lost invain

    1. Yep! It is when you get one of those little slip ups in life, or you just get swept up in what is going on around you that you forget what you want out of life.

  2. Every now and then you can find a lifeguard on duty…those few true friends that will not abandon you no matter how stupid we behavior…enjoyed your poem.

    1. I agree completely with that, and it is nice to find one, but they are few and far between.

    1. Of course! (Not that I don’t have enough distractions already lol)

  3. toriascribbles | Reply

    Purpose is a great factor, we all need to get a wake up call to live for the divine purpose we are created for. Enjoyed the poem,love it.

    1. Exxxacctly! And I’m glad you liked it!

      1. toriascribbles

        😉

  4. Thanks for that reminder. Quite appropriate for me today.

    1. You are quite welcome 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  5. Always the optimist, always pushing forward, learning from the occasional bump in the road. Life is a roller coaster ride… enjoy every minute!

    1. Exactly! While hardships and distractions are often tough, you learn so much from them.

Speak, human, speak!

