The Spoken Word

There was a voice;
it lingered in back lots
of my mind, mingling with
memories on their way to
either side, it ran into
things I’d left behind,
and leered at those I’d lost.

Then it rocked between
crowded seats of sparkling
right brain epiphanies
and got off at the last
stop before the car returns
home to its reviewing lot.

From there it hitched a
ride, tying its immaterial
baggage to the hissing tide
of vapor that exudes and
arrives from the land of
its birth.

And from there I watched
it go as strangers often
part from their common row,
giving it little thought
to immigrant entering that
foreign tangible land.

But occasionally now I do
wonder, over the volumes of
vagabonds that have stumbled
apart from my path, to where
they wander that they seem
so eagerly to go?
_____________________________________
This poem came to me about 11pm last night, and I finally got to a sort of ending just as I posted this. I really liked the sound and the imagery of it, even though I’m not quite sure why I began writing this while half awake…sometimes I swear I am not at the wheel of the mechanisms of my mind. Honest.         

Anywho, happy Friday and here is to hoping that your weekend is long, and that your Monday seems far away!

16 responses

  1. This exactly: “sometimes I swear I am not at the wheel of the mechanisms of my mind.” Most interestingly (and ironically, or not, depending on how you look at it), this piece speaks to me because it echoes perfectly that sentiment! It reads to me as an expression about the unconscious spoken/written word that sometimes seems to work work alone without our conscious intent. Ha!

  2. And, I should add, how quickly, easily, stealthily those unconscious words can slip away if we don’t “catch” them. Great work!

    1. 😀 Well, thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed this one! I do love how the unconscious words seem to just work in strange, but awesome ways. I am actually finding that I’m doing my best writing when half awake…which, of course, doesn’t speak volumes for my writing, but still lol

      1. “half awake” – yes, me too; at least I think so 😉

  3. Love the language in this. It sounds very nice and flows well like it should be spoken aloud.

    Also, “I am not at the wheel of the mechanisms of my mind.” Yes, totally 🙂

    I feel that way when I’m taken over by ideas. I forget the time of day and what I was supposed to be doing. I don’t stop writing until the images finally flicker out!

    1. Thank you! 😀 And I often lose myself in writing as well. It’s both fun and addicting. Most days, at least. Other days, it’s an annoying, trickling pain -_- especially when trying to write on demand.

  4. Much to like here! Nice work. In the third line did u intend “mind” or “wind,” as written?
    -R-

    1. Good catch! And thank you 🙂 Auto correct is kind of a hassle more than a help most days.

  5. I’m never at the wheel of my mind. I’m more of an annoying back-seat driver.

    1. Yeah, that seems to be the way it works a lot of the time, doesn’t it?

  6. I enjoyed this one quite a lot. Well done 😀

  7. The best stuff comes when we are not at the wheel. I enjoyed this very much

    1. It does, doesn’t it? Ty for reading and I’m really glad you enjoyed it!

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Speak, human, speak!

