Semper Paratus

Semper Paratus

Semper Paratus

This morning there’s
gin in the orange juice
and rum in my mug,
and, today, the thermos is packin’
a little more love,

cause there’s a jam on main street
and drama in the office,
a nag back home,
and lint in my pockets,

files all a’piling
and a boss hawking my desk,
a co-worker squawking
and making a mess,

and the calendar’s shrieking
rest is a long week away
so I’m saucing up early-
cause it’s just bound to be
that kind of day!

__________________________________________

Welp, it’s Monday again, folks. No matter how hard we fight it, it always rears its ugly head. To deal with this Β little fact, I present the poem above with all its suggestions. Β In fact, I’ve kind of taken to the idea of creating a group that is dedicated to the fact. I’m thinking of calling it “Alcoholics For-All-Of-Us”- a group that drinks for those who can’t for various reasons. Sort of a civil duty, really. Heck, now that I think of it, I feel like I’ve been dodging some sort of honorable calling for not doing so sooner!

Anywho, I hope you got a little laugh out of this morning’s poem. It’s a bit crude but, well, I thought it might be some fun. Here’s to hoping your Monday passes quickly by!

19 responses

  1. Sounds like a great way to start a week. LOL

    1. lol Ohhhh it’s about the only way to deal with it and retain the semblance of sanity some days!

  2. I love this gave me a good laugh!

    1. πŸ˜€ I am glad to hear that and ty for reading!

  3. I’d like to be the first to place an order – three large whiskeys, on the rocks, to be drunk this evening. (I can’t drink them because I’m on tablets.)

    1. I hope you had time to ‘take care’ of your order Monday night, and here’s to hoping that the rest of your week is awesome πŸ™‚

  4. Great poem, only don’t think you’re going to do MY drinking for ME! πŸ™‚

    1. lol Well, then you are an official member of Alcoholics For All Of Us, doing your civil duty and all πŸ™‚

      1. Excellent news! πŸ™‚

  5. emma1951.wordpress.com | Reply

    Nice! πŸ™‚

  6. Only 1 hour and 2 minutes to go

    1. And thankfully it went quickly! πŸ˜€

  7. I like the crude-nesd of the poem, matches what Monday is to all of us.

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! And yeah, Monday seems to be a little rough around the edges, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading and have an awesome week!

  8. Witty, humorous. Nice.

    1. Well, thank you! πŸ˜€ I’m glad ya enjoyed it!

  9. Atta girl!! Take no prisoners! πŸ˜€

    1. Oh, I give no quarter. Be sure of that πŸ™‚

Speak, human, speak!

