Wake Up

Resting on laurels has
gotten me no where
caked in the dust of
my inaction the world
passes me by, seeing
only another relic by
the wayside

but I awoke to the
sounding of my steady
heart, a resilient villan
whose war drums resound
as a constant warning
to the world that I
will never be
far behind

So I stood and patted
off the powdered past
and started stepping
in time with the taps
of my deepest desires,
an ambition enough to
freeze the world
in fire

_____________________________________________

Some people you just can’t keep down. The world sure tries, doesn’t it? Through indifference or seemingly directed malice, it  attempts to pigeon hole people into certain lives but, to those out there, here’s a little one to remind you that the strife can’t stop the beating of your proud hearts.

9 responses

  1. Thank you for your words of inspiration. I will use this to make it through another day of my pigeon hole and have faith in the beating of my heart.

    1. 😀 I’m glad you enjoyed it! Honestly, it is always nice to hear someone enjoyed one of my poems. Thanks a million for reading and I hope your week turns out to be awesome!

  2. I’ve never actually rested on laurels. I’d imagine it’d be quite uncomfortable.

    1. It is surprisingly comfortable, disarmingly so to be honest. You get nice and content and don’t want to get off and do new things 😉

  3. Resting on laurels.. So well said, knowing that we all do that sometimes.
    Beautiful poem.

    1. Thank you! And, yes, I think we all do. I needed to get the heck off mine as I didn’t realize I had been resting on those fluffy, comfortable things!

      1. Thats true, it happens to the best if us!

  4. Reblogged this on Spontaneous Creativity.

    1. Thanks a million for the reblog!

Speak, human, speak!

