Westward

mountian scenery

Westward

Where I want to be and
where I’m at aren’t
exactly in the same
locale-

In fact, I’m reachin’
for tall pines that
preach in early
morning hours of
better ways and
mountains that
breathe in our
worries and out
our dreams

I’m shooting for skies
that drip of stars
and breezes that
waft away the tax
you get from simply
being alive

and I’m not there yet
but I’m dying to be
striving with each
ounce of my soul
and putting all
energy into heading
where I feel
that I’m free-

I’m heading
west
______________________________

Happy Friday, folks! Hopefully you got both yesterday and today off (if you were both here in the US and unlike me). Above is just a little personal poem, as I am currently stuck in the midwest but planning a move out to Washington State sometime this year that, like all good things, keeps getting shoved farther and farther back due to randomness.  It’s one of those situations where life can’t move fast enough and, of course, isn’t. I’m going to keep scratching away, however, until I finally end up where I want to be.

Well, I hope you enjoyed a bit of my personal poem above, but I hope even more that your weekend is long, relaxing, and that Monday comes to find you well rested, and ready for the week ahead.

13 responses

  1. Before making the long journey westward make sure you give your horse a new pair of shoes

    1. Good advice. There is a crap ton of preparation now adays, and I can’t even imagine what it was like when the phrase ‘going west’ actually meant something. You’d think playing (and losing) The Oregon Trail as a kid would have stifled my ideas of heading that way 😉

      1. 😀 ! Oregon trail excellent game. What a flash back

  2. I’ve lived in the Southwest for over five years, now traveling toward your destination. You capture the feel of this area very well. Our destination is as far west as you can go in the USA, with a true sense of freedom – Alaska. (Check out my blog, rigzenchomo.com for photos and poems of this vast land)

    1. Oooo, man I stopped in Alaska once on a flight and it was beautiful. I’ve always wanted to go back there as well! And I will be sure to check out your blog 🙂 Thanks a million for posting and I hope you have an awesome weekend!

    1. 😀 That is actually some place I’ve always wanted to travel to. Maybe I’ll get the urge to go East again (wayyy East) I’ll actually make it there as well!

  3. I hope you find those “tall pines”

    1. Well, thank you 🙂 and ty a million for reading!

  4. christopher osunbote | Reply

    Nice playful lines.

  5. Been there. All you seek awaits you. 😀 Just don’t go too far west.

    1. Ohhhh, I am hoping so! Looking forwards to seeing some mountians again 🙂

Speak, human, speak!

