You

You

You

There’s no stopping it,
no shadow dark enough
no cliff to drop it
from that’s depths will
keep it down,

it’s a sort of brilliance
that knows no bounds
except those self-imposed
upon it,

a rough stone rolled
but now, polished,
outshines the stars and
promises to tomorrow that
there will be something
more if they have
anything to say about it

an ambition that drowns
all the rats who try
to cast their sinking ships
atop it,

a fierce fire
that burns and seers
the grasping vines of
those who dare to say
no to its kind,

a force forever reaching
sinking its self into
the annuls of history
and refusing to give in
to this world, its misery,
and avowing never
to back down without
fighting that good fight –

all these things in one,
I have found a living inspiration
by which to live my life.

_____________________________________

Happy Birthday to him to whom my words will never do justice.

19 responses

  1. Wonderfully written, thoroughly enjoyed. 😀

    1. Well, thank you! I am very (very, very, very) rarely sappy, but I supposed being nice for my friends b-day wouldn’t tarnish my reputation too much 😉 Of course, that means tomorrow’s poem has to make up for this sappy nice-ness!

      1. Lol I think it’s worth it on occasion 🙂

  2. Nicely done! Several cuts above the usual online adolescent angst! Thanks a ton for liking three…COUNT ‘EM… three!!…of my haiku. Come back often, we’re having a half-price sale soon…maybe. *g*

    Best,

    -R-

    1. Well, thank you! and lol, I’ll be sure to stop by soon and get another few for my mental collection 😉

  3. Birthday ice us free reign for sappiness 🙂

    1. Yes…but I must make up for it later or else it might krinkle my style 😉

    1. 😀 Welllll thank you! I’m glad ya enjoyed it!

    1. Wellll thank you 🙂 Ty a million for reading!

  4. christopher osunbote | Reply

    To he who shall deeply appreciate these justified words.

    1. 🙂 Annd to he who, most of the time, recieves more colorful four lettered words associated with him rather than these kind ones. Like I said, I’m not the gushy sort of type 😉

  5. Wow, this is truly spectacular. I am amazed by your creativity; keep it up!

    1. 😀 Well, thank you! I’m glad ya enjoyed it and ty a million for reading!

  6. Congratulations & cherish happiness.

    1. 😀 Thank you and I will! Ty a million for reading!

  7. toad (chris jensen) | Reply

    Love the poem thanks for the follow

Speak, human, speak!

