Indecision

confused man

Indecision

Churning a wyrm within me
burrowing, feeding on fears
and leaching its life
from regrets, bad decisions
in memories yet the very
things we saw coming
but from which we were
too stupid to run

it sits in our minds
smug towards our sulking
mocking those ambitions
towards which we’ve
stopped walking, body
lethargic with its
parasitical grunge
mucking through our
veins

it’s aΒ damned deadly,
cunning thing, and if you
don’t sweat it out
it’ll never go away

___________________________

It will eat you if you let it, folks.

49 responses

    1. Isn’t it, though? Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

  1. nice write.. something many of us do battle with occasionally

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ And, at some times, more ‘occasionally’ than others! It’s a beast of a thing that is always stalking around and just waitin’ for an easy meal.

  2. very true and perfectly written ! Love it !

    1. Awww, well thank you! And thanks a million for reading πŸ™‚

  3. Wyrm? Are you a Game of Thrones/Inheritance Trilogy fan perchance?
    Also, this is well written!

    1. Can’t say that I am, but I do love me some mythology πŸ™‚ and thank you!

  4. What a neat digital picture! How did you find this one? Goes so well with this awesome blog!

    1. Thanks! I honestly can say I spend hours looking for photos that go with my posts. Mostly, I find them on free stock imagery sites, but this one I actually had to pay for off iphoto or another site like it. I think a good picture can really help the impact of a poem.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. simple and stunning. congratulations on being freshly pressed.

    1. πŸ˜€ Thank you! And ty for stopin’ by my little corner of the blog-o-sphere.

  6. nice post and also congratulations on being freshly pressed.
    .
    http://www.bayofhealth.wordpress.com
    a way towards a healthy life… must follow it before your life becomes a slave of medicines..

  7. Fry’s my brain. Burns out the circuits. Leaves me smoked, rather than stoked.

    Great writing. Spot on!

    1. Exxxactly! Even when you beat it, it leaves you absolutely beat. Thanks for the compliment and for readin’ πŸ™‚

  8. I’ve been running into indecision a lot lately and I’ve found it always appears when I forget two things;

    1. I can’t control anything other than my attitude and actions, the results are out of my hands.

    2. I’m way smarter than I give myself credit for; I know what the best decision is 90% of the time. Indecision is me arguing with myself to choose the easier or morally compromising choice.

    I really like your poem and I think that it does a fantastic job of communicating the struggle that can occur when we forget to be honest with ourselves.

    1. Well, thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed this lil’ guy πŸ™‚ That is so true, though. I think that is why I personified it into this sort of sneaky little wyrm, a dirty little beast that is underhanded and yet cunning and takes advantage of any little slip in the cracks it sees.

      Thanks a million for reading and, once again, I’m glad ya enjoyed it!

    1. Awesome! Ty for the reblog πŸ™‚

  9. Your writing peels off the layers revealing what we all feel at one point or another. Humor and persistence are the antidote to this. I hope.

    1. πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed it and, oh, I believe they are in deed. Always ends up working for me if I can take a step back, laugh, and realize I just need to keep on keepin’ on. Thanks for reading!

  10. VelaneDeBeaute | Reply

    True to death. πŸ™‚

    1. πŸ™‚ Ain’t it though?

      1. VelaneDeBeaute

        Sure it was πŸ˜‰
        I usually am a critique when it comes to poetry. But yours was so true and perfect, I really didn’t have words. :’)

        How were you inspired to write back in time? πŸ™‚

  11. True story… Unfortunately like the flue we all get it once in a while.

  12. Wow, excellent. We’ve all been there – sometimes my every night good night moment!

    1. Oh, I have felt like this more than I’d like to admit! Good to know that you could relate to it!

  13. Everyone can relate to this. Excellent thought put into writing.

    1. I’m glad you think that and thank you! I really strive to make poems that people can relate to and this was a topic that I feel many people face, and I know I’ve faced increasingly as of late. Thanks a million for reading!

  14. awesome piece.. very well said..

    1. Well, thank you! Both for the comment and for reading πŸ™‚

  15. It’s interesting….over the course of a day, how many decisions are never made. On the other hand, is not making a decision actually a decision?

    1. Hmmm, good question. Personally, I’d say no. Inaction, in any sense, seems to be less of a decision and more a symptom of distress. That point where you don’t know what to do and there for are unable to do anything, rather than choosing to do nothing. Thanks a million for reading, and for the thoughtful comment!

  16. Nice post, and vey interesting picture. I liked it a lot!

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed this one and the picture took hours to find but, as you can see, it was well worth the search πŸ™‚

  17. A talented circumspection on a theme that will be familiar to all. Lovely language, phrasing and allegory. Very well done.

    1. πŸ˜€ Well, thank you! It’s comments like these that keep my lil’ ego puffed up and writing πŸ˜‰ Thanks for reading!

    1. Of course and ty for visiting me here! πŸ™‚

  18. […] Indecision (amuseless.wordpress.com) […]

Speak, human, speak!

