Bitter Whine

wine cork

The Bitter Whine

Mornings like this
make me wonder
why I ever gave
drinking up,

why I traded in
my shot glass
and took up
a coffee mug.

I shoulda joined
the band at the bar,
I could have been
famous, drinking
whiskey all the time,

but I had to go
and get educated
and now, all I ever
have to drink
is this bitter whine.

___________________________

Mornin’, Folks. It’s Monday again, isn’t it? I’ve tried to ignore that fact myself. However, it’s there all the same and I hope you enjoy this short little crude rhyme and it at least gives you a lil bit to smile at as you start your week.

As for myself, I think I’ll have a bit ofΒ chateau de suck-it-up, and try my best to make it through the day πŸ™‚

8 responses

  1. As I sit in this all day planning meeting to achieve “better alignment”, I can fully appreciate your poem, believe me.

    Sent from my iPhone

    1. lol! Ohhhh, you’re stuck in a special sort of hell, aren’t ya? πŸ˜‰ Here is to hoping your week gets better and thanks a million for reading!

      1. Yea. Just about like seeing the proctologist. Ha!

  2. I gave up drinking in exchange for prescription pills. I prefer the drink to be honest.

    1. Ohhh, I’d take a good strong drink any day! I’ve got a lovely little concoction I call the ‘pain killer’ even πŸ˜‰ Thanks for reading!

  3. Fresh, short, clever, pertinent, original. That’s what you are. Maybe some secular poems would add a little spice.

  4. This one made me laugh. I understand the feeling completely. Excellent writing πŸ™‚

    1. πŸ˜€ I’m glad you enjoyed it and thank you for reading!

Speak, human, speak!

