Running On Empty

girl walking down road

Running On Empty

Miles mean nothing
anymore and

You’re gauging life
by joy you leach
from dreams.

Getting tired you’re
losing steam, but
It’s when you’re
running on empty
when you’ve got
to burn the most

you’ve got to flee
while there’s still
a part of you

that’s worth

fighting
for.

__________________________________

It’s when you think you’ve got nothing left that you’ve got to keep going. And faster than you’ve ever moved before.

Well, I hope you enjoyed this little scrap I posted above. It’s not a completed work but rather more of an idea I am toying with. Still, I thought it was one of those worth the posting.

Anywho, here’s to hoping your work day flies by and that you’re home safe and sound before ya know it.

12 responses

  1. I ran out of empty some time back. Now I’m waiting for the tow truck to cart me off to the Knackers’ Yard.

  2. I am having a pretty rough day, while already in a bit of a rough patch so when I saw your post now it made me feel better. Thanks for that. You, too, are wished a great day, or even a semi-great day if that’s what will get you by….

    1. šŸ™‚ You are very welcome, honest. I’m glad to know something I write can help ya out, even if it just a lil’. Ty a million for reading and thanks for the well wishes (and they are what gets me by šŸ˜‰ )

  3. Quite worth posting, I agree. Well done.

    1. Thanks! I was hoping this one would meet a good reception šŸ™‚ Thanks for reading!

  4. Thx for the follow. I enjoyed my first visit as well as this poem. Strong first line. I think you meant “losing”….btw. =) Just meaning to be helpful. Please delete this part of comment.

    1. Thank you! And ty for catching that. I should have the title of typo queen, honestly. You should see a word document after I’ve had a go at it. All red dashes and green squiggles šŸ˜‰

  5. Reblogged this on blue_muse.

Speak, human, speak!

