Do What You Love, Not What You Must

1158040_41178015

Do What You Love, Not What You Must

I want nothing to
do with you
and yet
you keep coming
right on back
wearing obligation
and regrets as
your shoulder devils
doing their
sworn diligence

And we dance like
old enemies
back to back with
twisted necks
legs twined deep
in each others
steps
shackled by this
mutual respect
that neither of us wishes
to possess

You swing low
to make me sway
dangling
teasing of that day
you’ll promise
never to bother me again
but I know
this game is rigged
and it’ll only
ever end when I
break
that brittle little
oppressive soul
and use your sadistic
passion
for my own.

___________________________

Well, it’s Monday again, folks. I apologize about that unfortunate mishap.  That poem up there was dedicated to these sort of events. Ones where you’re stuck in some sadistic tango always twisted and torn between paying the bills and following your heart’s content.  It’s annoying reality that if you aren’t doing what you love then you are just dancing to someone else’s tune.

Currently stuck in that myself and, well, just wanted to put a little ‘I feel ya’ out there. It’s also got a little reminder there on the end that, when you finally do find the means and the power to do exactly what you want to do in life, you can tear a page out of mediocrity’s own book and learn to hold on and not let go.

Here’s to hoping that your day flies by, the boss leaves you alone, and that you’ve got something cold and on the rocks waiting for you at home!

12 responses

  1. Holy cow this is good,…. Amazing poem. Especially the second stanza! “Back to back with twisted necks”.. Pure genius of wordplay.

    1. 😀 Thank you! That’s actually where the poem started. I often have really good lines that I like and I build the poem around them and that, of course, was one.

      1. Have wonderful christmas… Just wishing you all the best, in case im not around in the next few days x

      2. Well, thank you! 🙂 Hope you had an amazing one this year!

      3. Meh. No. But thats ok hahahaha

  2. Reblogged this on euphoriclight and commented:
    Send him AWAY

  3. What a dance life truely is, between the things that tie us down, and the things we would rather be around. I love this poem!!

    1. Well, thank you! It’s such a strange relationship between doing what we have to do and what we want that I just imagined it into this short of love hate relationship which, of course, turned into this poem. Thanks a million for reading and even more for posting!

  4. This piece spoke to me because I have finally managed to reach a place where I have the freedom to pursue my passion and yet I feel almost lost and sort of overwhelmed by my new won freedom, that I fought so hard to win. I think I must breathe, and make peace with myself ina sense that it is really ok to do what I want vs. what someone else wants me to do. Great write for me to chew on and bounce around my head today…. thank you.

    1. You are quite welcome! It’s an odd time, isn’t it? I know the feeling you are going through and let me just say that self reflection is always key. And lots of alcohol. 😉 I recommend that you implement both and never have your fill of them!

Speak, human, speak!

