Inspiration

Statue

Inspiration

I’ve woven into myself
an idea
chiseled in stone it
is not yet flesh

but washed, abashed
in its own shed limitations,
it has begun to dream of
taking
its first breath

____________________________________

Mornin’, folks. Or whatever greeting fits when you read this. Just thought I’d toss this one up after finishing it this morning. Despite its brevity, I like this lil’ guy. He’s short and to the point which are often the poems that I like the most. Once again, writing to my favorite album Dark Night of the Soul by Philip Wesley really helped me out with this one, as it often does with any of my writing for some reason. It’s always been the background noise of my best writing, and I’m sure all the other members of my house are sick of hearing it but, well, it works.

Here’s to hoping that you find some source of inspiration of your own and that you’ve got something cold and on the rocks waiting for you when you get home tonight.

16 responses

  1. Simple but meaningful

    1. Thank you 🙂 I rather like the succinct poems best due to how much impact just a handful of words can hold.

  2. Wow! This poem really made me think. It’s very beautiful & deep. My first thought was of Michelangelo as he approached each block of marble anew…chiseling perfection with his eyes before realizing beauty with his hands. He put his flesh and blood into whatever he touched, breathing life & grace into the cold, hard surface of stone. Thank you for sharing, my friend, & have a wonderful day!
    Cheers,
    Tyler 🙂

    1. What an awesome interpretation! You are quite welcome, and hope you have an awesome day as well! 😀

  3. Love this. Thank you.

    1. You are quite welcome and thanks a million for comment!

  4. Inspiration is such a tricky monster, but your writing is superb!

    1. Well, thank you! You’re always far too kind to me 😉 Here’s to hoping you have an awesome day!

  5. Really loved the simplicity of this. Really shows that you don’t have to write in complexity to be meaningful.

    1. I try my best from being obscure and I’m actually partial to shorter and more impactful poems so I’m glad this guy settled so well with you! Thanks a million for the comment!

  6. newdaynewthought | Reply

    http://www.theteenageoverdose.wordpress.com … it may not be your genre, but it opens your mind to new things so I think you might like it based on your blog so far. Well done by the way 🙂

    1. Ty and happy to have the share! I’ll be sure to check it out either way and- Ooooo, actually it’s pretty good. One of the pictures on there fits an idea I’ve been working on. Guess you’ll never know where you’ll find inspiration lurking, huh?

  7. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and
    it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if
    I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or tips.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read more things about it!

Speak, human, speak!

