A Good Book

Book sculpture

Good Book

You’ve gone

There and back

Again

And you’re all

The better for it.

 

Wandered through

Lands unknown

With

Unsavory souls and

Those heroic

 

But now you’re home

Last page turned

Spine closed  and

Now

The real journey begins.

___________________________________________

Mornin’, folks.  Just finished a novel about a few minutes ago, and I felt this poem applicable and one that might sit well with you as well. Getting to the final page of The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett gave me one of those good ‘novel euphoria’ feelings. You know, the ones where you just sit there holding the book after you’re done, enjoying the mood it’s put ya in.  Hopefully, it’s one that you can relate to and, if you can’t, I suggest you go on a book hunt and get yourself a good one.

Well, here’s hoping that you’re day goes quickly by and that you’ve got something cold and on the rocks waiting for you when you get home tonight.

7 responses

  1. Interesting…someone just posed a question on an author Facebook page, asking if anyone else read and loved a Terry Pratchett series (the name escapes me now). But, two mentions in one day…think I’m going to have to look into it 🙂

    1. It is a sign, to be sure! Seriously good reads and I don’t think there is a single page in any of the books I have encountered that haven’t made me at least smirk. Quite often I end up laughing out loud!

      1. Hmm. My last few reads have been dark and serious. Think I need something humorous!

  2. I love books, ones where you can sink deep within the story and forget yourself, be totally immersed, so that if anyone speaks to you , you don’t notice, rude I know, but what the heck, they shouldn’t disturb eh? xx

    1. Exactly. I have sort of an auto-pilot way of answering people who decide to start talking to me when reading a book and, thankfully, my fiance usually realizes that sort of hollow tone and leaves me to my books 🙂 Ty a million for the comment!

Speak, human, speak!

