Snow Birds

birds sheltering in tree during a snow storm

Snow Birds

Sparrows sit on snow,
the little ghosts who peck
and leave no steps,
and for whom themselves
can willingly alight,
spiriting away like a shade
departing from its
former life.

__________________________

Hey there, folks. Today it might not be funny, but I get those small phrases stuck in my head sometimes and they come out as poems that I reckon might turn out alright. This one came from this morning, sipping on some energy and watching the sparrows sit on the snow. I admit there was a bit of envy there, as I had just gone out and stuck my leg through a few snow drifts and the snow had copped a feel up my leg by sneaking up  my pant leg. The first lines of this poem kinda just came to mind sitting there so, now, here they are for you. I do hope you enjoy.

Here’s to hoping your day flies by and that you’ve got something cold and on the rocks waiting for you when you get home tonight.

11 responses

  1. 🙂 Nothing wrong with going a little more on the serious tone sometimes. I have a hard time getting some humor in my pieces, so I try to sprinkle in some quirky bits for my readers so they’re not so bored. XD It’s a lovely piece you have here. The picture was a perfect fit too!

    1. Well, thank you! I have a hard time being serious, so I just feel a bit odd posting anything without at least a smirk of a tone in it.

      And, I swear, it takes me longer to find the images to fit than the poems that I write…which probably doesn’t really highlight the work that goes into my poems, does it?

      Hmmm, still, thanks for the compliment and the comment! 😉

      1. ^_^ You betcha! I’m terribly non-picky about the pictures I use, so I love when it works out. ^_^

    1. And I’m glad to hear it! Thanks a million for the comment 🙂

  2. This was witty, with a smiling heart open for wonder. Sometimes the little details are just details. But also sometimes they are things of beauty, and makes you want to look again and write and sear them into memory. You have done the sparrows justice. 😉 The spiritual symbolism was a fine, fine way to wrap this little gift up.

    And thank you for the happy wishes for my day. I have claim it. 😀

    1. Well, thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed this lil’ guy and happy to see that someone can make you out of my well wishes 😉 Thanks a million for the compliment and the comment!

      1. The pleasure is all mine! Stay faithful! And keep warm! 😀

    1. Thanks a million for the reblog!

Speak, human, speak!

