The Morning Jog

Picture of an orange coffee cup on a white background

The Morning Jog

The handle on
my coffee mug is
the only grip on
reality that I’ve
got
but I have to keep
moving like it
or not because
time is my enemy
and
I’m just racing
the clock scrounging
for every second
to be where I’m
not

____________________________________

It’s Monday again, isn’t it, folks? Wish I could stop them coming but I’ve got to face the music just like you. This lovely Monday poem kinda sums up what I feel in the morning while I’m not quite lucid but I know I have to keep going if I ever want to get out of the Monday cycle of madness.

On an awesome note, if you weren’t reading Friday you might have missed that I made my 3,000 followers goal and I am writing a gigantic thank you post to everyone out there who cares to click and comment. As per tradition, you get a poem and I get a cupcake so it is a win-win for both of us! Sort of a mutual celebration, really.

Well, here’s to hoping that your day is short and that you’ve got something cold and on the rocks waiting for you when you get home tonight!

2 responses

  1. Fantastic imagery. Oh the mighty coffee!

    1. Well, thank you! 🙂 And, yes. I have but one master and it is called caffeine!

Speak, human, speak!

