The Honest Truth

The Honest Truth

The Honest Truth

To hell with it-

I got through four lines
five different meters and
still thought it read
like shit

So I crumpled up the paper and
deleted it off the page
struck the words from my mind
and then bitched about
my age

___________________

Do I really need an explanation for this one, folks? I mean, I should have known it would be a Monday poem that gave me such hell. I had it all there, I swear and then it just sort of lingered and taunted me. Still, there’s always some good even for some really annoyingly bad work- the first title of collected work I am putting together will be titled Let’s Be Honest With Each Other. Why? Because I don’t want my first work to have some snazzy title or some pretty name ’cause, as you all might have noticed, that doesn’t seem to fit me very well and if there’s one thing I value in this world, it’s being genuine. Figured I might as well be myself if I am going to throw my writing out there for mass consumption.

Anywho, well here’s to hoping (as always) that your day flies by and that you’ve got something and on the rocks waiting for you when you get home tonight.

6 responses

  1. Man I feel your pain, check out some of the “stuff” I’ve posted! you equally should see the “stuff” I have not posted!!! – Happy Monday or what’s left of it.
    Chris.

    1. Checkin’ it out currently πŸ™‚ And glad to know that I’m not alone in this misery! Thanks for reading, and thanks a million times more for posting. I appreciate it!

      1. Cheers, “blogsville” a great place to procrastinate!
        Chris.

    1. LOL Nicely put, sir πŸ˜€ Thanks a million for reading and even more for the comment!

  2. say no more

Speak, human, speak!

