You Are What You Write

You Are What You Write

You Are What You Write

I don’t want to be
ironic
impractical
unrealistic
romantic

I just want to write, me,
an addict who thinks that
life’s a bit more trashy
than it is tragic and
who just wants to find a
way to laugh instead of cry
and turn screams into
sighs huffed over cups
half full, empty, or
filled up with whatever I
damn well please

So, I won’t write about roses
romantic flings, or convoluted
notions for which you have to dig

I’ll be
blunt
real
hungover
unhinged

 

____________________________________________________

Half way through the work week, folks. Hope you’re hanging in there. Wanted to throw up a nice little poem today after I did some writing over the weekend, and some research on popular poetry and topics. I penned some more conservative works and did some more perfect metered rhymes and, you know what? I didn’t like them. Why? Because that’s not how I am nor is it how I like to write. So, on that thought, I did this one instead and I’m rather fond of this guy. He’s real, kind of funny looking, a little sour, but he’s one hell of a fun guy. And that’s kind of how I realize I like my poems so, hopefully, you’ll enjoy them, too.

 

Here’s to hoping that your day flies by and that you have something cold and on the rocks waiting for you when you get home tonight.

One response

  1. applause to you!

Speak, human, speak!

