More Frightening Than Fiction

komedi_1414301948405_627

Double, double
toil and trouble
the coffee burns
and oatmeal bubbles

I’m late for work
on All-Hallow’s week
when did holidays
become so bleak?

Won’t get candy
I gotta get gas
wear a costume?
I’m in last week’s
pants!

Want to Time Warp
or Monster Mash
but what’s more frightening:
Grooving out to Thriller
or the thought of
no cash?

No, instead of haunting
I’ll just ghost away
another zombie shambles
to the promise of
prey pay.

 

______

Alright, alright. I know, it’s Monday and that was an extremely corny poem but give an old girl her woes, won’t you?Β  Just thought I’d like to give my protest for growing up, despite the fact I’m as bogged down and out of the fun as they come. Still, I can always raise a hoot in my writing, can’t I?

Anywho, here’s to hoping your day flies by and that you’ve got something cold and on the rocks waiting for you when you get home tonight.

6 responses

  1. LOVE YOUR POEM!!! very nicely written! hope to read more to come. 5/5.

    1. Well, thank you πŸ™‚ I’m really glad you enjoyed this guy! I figured I’d throw some Halloween spirit into a post or two this week, even if it is only lamenting about how much I miss fully celebrating it! Thanks a million for reading and even more for the nice comment!

  2. Ahh, the joys of growing up πŸ™‚ happy Monday to you

    1. Ohh, aren’t they semi depressing some times? I swear I want to quit some days and hide out in a blanket fort. Anywho, I hope your Monday went well enough and thanks a million for both the read and the comment πŸ™‚

  3. This is fun and full of realism.

Speak, human, speak!

